SCORE Baja 500 BFGoodrich Pit Support   Championship Pressure Builds For Second Half of Global Mazda MX-5 Cup

Ivan Stewart selected for class of 2020 in new Off-Road Category of the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America

Iconic ‘Ironman’ among nine inductees for prestigious Hall located at Daytona International Speedway in Florida

ENSENADA, Baja California, Mexico—SCORE champion desert racer—iconic Ivan ‘Ironman’ Stewart—has been recognized yet again for his off-road racing accomplishments and will be inducted into the 2020 Motorsports Hall of Fame of America on March 17, 2020 at Daytona International Speedway where the MSHFA of America has been located since 2016.

Stewart, 74, will join the 2020 class of nine to be inducted in the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America and will be the first official inductee in the Off-Road Category. The MSHFA was founded in 1989 and is in its sixth year at the famed Daytona International Speedway in Florida.

In the MSHFA class of 2020 in the new Off-Road Category, Ivan Stewart will be inducted along with NASCAR’s first champion Robert Byron (Historic category), flat track impresario Chris Carr (Motorcyles), early motorcycle racer, promoter and publisher Floyd Clymer (At Large), driver, official and safety advocate Wally Dallenbach Sr (Open Wheel), Rick Hendrick, one of NASCAR’s most successful owners (Stock Cars), Daytona 500 champion Tiny Lund (Historic), Can-Am and Rolex 24 at Daytona champion Jacky Ickx (Sports Cars) and quarter-mile racing legend George Montomery (Drag Racing).

Racing since 1973, Stewart joined the Toyota factory team in 1983 for Cal Wells at Precision Preparation Inc. (PPI). He had a total of 84 career off-road race victories in stadium, short course and desert.

Stewart won a record 17 Grand National Sport Truck main events in Mickey Thompson Entertainment Group’s (MTEG) stadium series, a record 17 SCORE Baja 500 class wins (including 10 SCORE Baja 500 overall wins), three SCORE Baja 1000s, and five SCORE season class point titles, including SCORE overall point championships in 1990 and 1993.


Stewart is one of the original desert racing stars that moved into the marquee SCORE Trophy Truck division for high-tech, 900 horsepower, unlimited production trucks when SCORE debuted the featured racing division in 1994.

In his final six years of racing (94-99), the Ironman won his SCORE Trophy Truck class nine times. He still stands tied for sixth in all-time SCORE Trophy Truck race wins after 130 total races in the 25-plus-year history of the spectacular racing class. Stewart was a pioneer in the high-profile racing class along with champion drivers like Rob MacCachren, Walker Evans, Roger Mears, Larry Ragland, brothers Paul and Dave Simon, Jimmy Smith and Curt LeDuc.

Ahead of Stewart on the all-time SCORE Trophy Truck win list are SCORE legends Rob MacCachren, first with 17 race wins, brothers Ed and Tim Herbst, Larry Ragland, Robby Gordon and Andy McMillin who each have 11 SCORE Trophy Truck race wins.

Stewart is tied for sixth with nine SCORE Trophy Truck race wins with the team of Dan Smith/Dave Ashley.

He also won four SCORE World Championships at the old Riverside International Raceway and three MTEG stadium racing titles.


Stewart was a 2006 inductee in the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame. In 2009, Stewart was also inducted into the San Diego Hall of Champions Breitbard Hall of Fame.

Stewart retired from racing in 2000. He continued to be instrumental in off road racing, becoming a founder in the ProTruck Racing Organization.

Currently, Stewart continues to be a special spokesperson for Toyota. Since Stewart’s retirement from racing, Toyota introduced the Toyota Tundra truck and soon afterwards produced a very limited number of trucks as the Ivan Stewart Ironman edition. These trucks featured a special Ivan Stewart signature package with Toyota Racing Development (TRD) wheels, grille, interior, and supercharger.

Ivan Stewart also became known in the video game circuit, lending his name and his style of stadium racing to a series of games entitled “Super Off Road. He wrote a book, Ivan “Ironman” Stewart’s Ultimate Off-Road Adventure Guide (Motorbooks, 2007). He also appeared in the live action video for kids/Real Wheels video, “There Goes a Race Car.”

Stewart is from San Diego and still resides in the San Diego area.

While Stewart is the first individual to be enshrined in the new Off-Road section of the MSHFA, several other inductees have spent time in SCORE desert racing.

With the most time in SCORE desert racing history are previous MSHFA inductees SCORE founder Mickey Thompson (1990 inductee in the At Large category), Malcolm Smith (1996-Motorcycles), Rick Mears (1990-Open Wheel) and Ricky Johnson (2012-Motorcycles).

The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America held its first induction ceremony in 1989. The facility was headquartered in Novi, Mich. and relocated to Dayton Beach, Florida in 2016. The MSHFA is the only hall of fame that encompasses the full spectrum of American motorsports including cars, motorcycles, off-road, powerboats and airplanes.


Idemitsu Mazda MX5 Cup presented by BFGoodrich Tires – Road Atlanta Petit 2022
Sep 28 – Oct 1 all-day
2022 FIA World Rally-Raid Championship – Rallye du Maroc
Oct 6 all-day
2022 WORCS ATX/SXS R9 – Mesquite, NV
Oct 7 – Oct 9 all-day
2022 WORCS MC R9 – Mesquite, NV
Oct 14 – Oct 16 all-day
Best in the Desert Laughlin Desert Classic 2022
Oct 20 – Oct 23 all-day
FIA World Cup for Cross-Country Bajas – Baja Portalegre 500
Oct 27 – Oct 29 all-day
2022 WORCS ATX/SXS R10 – Primm, NV
Oct 28 – Oct 30 all-day
2022 WORCS MC R10 – Primm, NV
Nov 4 – Nov 6 all-day
Best in the Desert Hare and Hound 2022
Nov 4 – Nov 6 all-day
FIA World Cup for Cross-Country Bajas – Saudi Baja
Nov 10 – Nov 12 all-day