BFG Desert Contingency Program Grows for 2017   BFGoodrich® Tires Enhancing Support of Racers at 2017 King of the Hammers

Desert Racing BFGoodrich Baja T/A KR3 & KR3-S 40×12.5R17

The latest iteration of the legendary BFGoodrich Baja T/A the KR3 takes steering response and transitional handling to the next level for unlimited class desert racing vehicles.  Using the race wining Baja T/A KR2 as the foundation the KR3 evolves into a 40×12.5R17 radial race tire with tough sidewalls and an aggressive tread pattern to take all the desert can throw at it.

Tested in the 2015 Baja 1000 and early season 2016 desert races the 40″ KR3 is designed for current generation unlimited 2wd or AWD SCORE Trophy Trucks®, Trophy Truck Spec, and Class 1 vehicles competing in SCORE, BITD, and elsewhere.

-44% increase in number of biting edges vs KR2

-1.25 inches taller than KR2, 1 inch narrower

-5 lbs lighter than 39″ KR2

-Lower rotational inertia than KR2 despite being larger in diameter

-More progressive traction, more predictable lateral grip

– Significantly improved comfort (and speed) through bumpy terrain

– Full-color BFGoodrich brand only sidewall applique

– KR3 and KR3-S are non-DOT off-road competition tires only and not legal for highway use; including chase vehicle.  KR3 is a dedicated race tire only designed for off-road surfaces.

Winner 2016 SCORE Baja 1000 with Rob MacCachren & Jason Voss
Winner 2017 Mint 400 – Rob MacCachren
Winner 2017 – 18 SCORE San Felipe 250 – Rob MacCachren
Winner 2017  50th SCORE Baja 1000 – Apdaly & Juan Carlos Lopez
Winner 2018 Ultra4 King of Hammers- Jason Scherer on Baja T/A KR3-S
Winner 2018 50th Mint 400 – Bryce Menzies
Winner 2018 50th SCORE Baja 500 – Rob MacCachren
Winner 2018 Baja 1000 – Cameron Steele & Pat Dean
Winner 2019 Ultra4 T1 Invitational – Luke McMillin
Winner 2019 Mint 400 – Justin Lofton
Winner 2020 Mint 400 – Luke McMillin
Winner 2020 Baja 500 – Dan McMillin
Winner 2020 Baja 1000 – Luke McMillin
Winner 2021 Baja 500 – Larry Roeseler
Winner 2021 Baja 1000 – Luke McMillin and Rob MacCachren
Winner 2021 Vegas to Reno – Ryan Arciero
Winner 2021 Mint 400 – Rob MacCachren
Winner 2022 Ultra4 T1 Invitational – Kyle Jergensen

MSPN                SIZE                              MODEL
37612                40×12.5R17               Baja T/A KR3 evo2.5    standard medium compound, proven race winner
24094               40×12.50R17            Baja T/A KR3 evo3.0   alternate medium-hard compound new in 2021, great for TT, TTS, Class 1 on fast graded roads.  Enhanced grip and less prone to block tearing
67188                40×12.5R17               Baja T/A KR3-S          alternate “soft” compound for TT qualifying and Ultra4 rock racing
27949                40×12.5R17               Baja T/A KR3-SR      alternate “soft-rock”, Ultra4 KOH Class 4400 only.  Soft compound with enhanced carcass for toughness and impact when rock climbing

Designed, engineered, and Made in the USA

Available from:

Jackson Motorsports Group at 1.800.RACE.BFG

Off-Road Warehouse (ORW)

Tersa Llantas BFGoodrich Off-Road Center in Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico

Race Tire Distributors

DOT Approved Tires

BFGoodrich Tires
BFGoodrich Dealer Locator >

Non-DOT Off Road Racing

Jackson Motorsports Group (JMG)
Greenville, SC
Off Road Warehouse (ORW)