Multiple Titles Highlight BFGoodrich Tires 2013 Motorsports Season   Red Bull Frozen Rush presented by BFGoodrich Tires- 2014

BFGoodrich Tires Conquers New Terrain — Snow — at Red Bull Frozen Rush

Eight seasoned off-road truck racers from The Off Road Championship to Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series entered the Sunday River Resort in Newry, Maine to conquer the ski slopes on four tires. The competition, called Red Bull Frozen Rush, was part of the companies Signature Series.

Event footage can be seen here

Included in this field was two Team BFGoodrich members Rob MacCachren and Bryce Menzies. BFGoodrich’s support of the event went well beyond its drivers however. The company provided the tire solution for every race truck on the slopes. Using the same tire used in short course off road racing, a BFGoodrich T/A KR, the tire was transformed for snow grip by using custom engineered steel ½ inch studs. With nearly 700 per tire, traction was a non-issue as these drivers took their 900 horsepower trucks on the course.


And after battling each other one-on-one in a heads-up elimination format, Ricky Johnson emerged victorious at the first Red Bull Frozen Rush.

The path to the podium was not easy. The much-ballyhooed polar vortex dropped the temperatures early in the week, setting the frigid tone for Frozen Rush. Temperatures hovered in the single digits all week in Newry, keeping the ski slopes blanketed in snow throughout the competition. The first practice day was on Wednesday, where most of the drivers first had the opportunity to drive on the ski slopes and Thursday was qualifying.

On race day Friday, over 10,000 spectators lined up along the course carved out of the mountain that’s normally a ski slope. The format of the head-to-head festivities was a bracketed, single-elimination with two drivers on the course at the same time. Each race consists of two laps with drivers alternating between the red and blue course with time penalties added for false starts and missed gates. All of the competitors would drive an all-wheel drive Pro 4 race truck.

In the top eight, number one seeded driver Rob MacCachren took out Todd DeLuc and Johnny Greaves beat out Scott Douglas. In the next match, Ricky Johnson advanced after Carl Renezeder overcooked an exit and crashed into a concrete barrier. Bryce Menzies win over Greg Adler sealed the first round of battles.

Bryce Menzies - Action

In the semi-finals, Johnny Greaves and Rob MacCachren both put down clean runs, however MacCachren was assessed a five-second penalty giving Greaves a pass to the finals. Ricky Johnson and Bryce Menzies’s semi-final heat was among the tightest of the day with Johnson narrowly beating Menzies by 0.2 second. Afterwards, Menzies would beat MacCachren in the fight for third place, earning a spot on the podium. For Menzies, this was a huge accomplishment considering he normally competes in a two-wheel drive Pro 2 truck.

Rob Maccachren - Action

For the final round of Frozen Rush, off-road archrivals Ricky Johnson and Johnny Greaves were staged up against each other. Greaves is the current TORC Pro 4 champion (2013) and Johnson won it the two years prior (2012 and 2011). It couldn’t have been scripted any better. After an extended four rounds of white roost-filled racing, Greaves finished the heat in 196.608 seconds and Johnson in 196.848. Greaves completed the finals 0.24 sec. faster, however he was assessed a five second penalty for hitting a gate thereby giving Johnson a 4.76 sec. advantage and the title of the 2014 Red Bull Frozen Rush champion.

(L-R) Johnny Greaves, Ricky Johnson, and Bryce Menzies - Lifestyle

Frozen Rush Results

1st Ricky Johnson
2nd Johnny Greaves
3rd Bryce Menzies

To see how it all went down, tune into the Red Bull Signature Series broadcasting on NBC at 3 p.m. ET on February 2nd.