Sunny Skies Cover SCCA Eastern Conference Round Five, BFGoodrich Tire Super Tour   Subaru Rally Team USA – 2013

Sunday’s Action at VIR Sees Familiar Faces On Podium at BFGoodrich Tires Super Tour


Sunday’s BFGoodrich Tires VIR Super Tour, doubling as Round Six on the Eastern Conference Majors Tour schedule, wrapped Sunday with the conclusion of the doubleheader weekend at VIRginia International Raceway.

The day started when the only driver who has been perfect so far this season extending his streak to six race wins. Glenn Cooper, of Roswell, Ga., drove his No. 43 Ralf Firman Racing/Hoosier Tires RFR F1000 to a dominating win in Formula 1000, stretching his Eastern Conference point lead.

The Group 1 race was shortened to just 13 of the scheduled 14 laps when it bumped up against the 40-minute time limit following a car that got into the tires and briefly caught fire. Emergency workers were immediately on the scene to squelch any trouble, but the field was black-flagged to pit lane on lap six with the time clock still running.

The Formula Atlantic race, running in the same group, was a repeat of yesterday’s race-long battle. Once again, Sadat Yelkin’s No. 75 Everclear Swift/Toyota started up front, and kept Keith Grant’s No. 40 Hoosier/Hasselgren/Polestar Swift 014a/Toyota just behind for the race distance. Today, however, they were behind the No. 01 GDRE/NJMP/Hardshell Motorsports Stohr WF-1/Suzuki of Garrett Kletjian, the overall winner in D Sports Racing.

Like Saturday, the fast, flowing corners and long straights meant that the drafting battle in Spec Miata packed the front-runners together until the final laps. The initial start was waved off, starting the race under yellow, but on lap two the action began.

By lap 10 of 14, the lead battle was six cars deep for the lead. Saturday podium finishers Andrew Charbonneau (No. 67 Auto Tecknick/Not East Street Miata), Danny Steyn (No. 39 ADEPT Studios/Rossini/OPM/Traqmate Miata) and Dan Tiley (No. 33 Ti-Speed Engineering Mazda Miata) had all taken their turns at the front of the pack.

With two to go, the No. 01 Talley Land Development/US Marines Miata of Cliff Brown moved to the front of the line, and held the pace across the stripe with one to go.

Alex Bolanos moved his No. 57 Autotechnik/Momo Motorsport Miata to the lead through lap 14 on the final lap and led the field out of the final corner.

From there, it was a drag race to the checkered flag. Brown, moving up the outside of the track, edged his fender in front of Bolanos to take the win. Charbonneau finished third.

The American Sedan race was nose to tail for most of the race between Daniel Richardson’s No. 15 Performance Auto Works/Hayworth Chevrolet Camaro of Daniel Richardson and the No. 42 Auto Re-Nu-It Auto Body/Hoosier Tire Ford Mustang of Michael Lavigne.

Lavigne chased Richardson, with the two running just a few car lengths apart for the race. The Mustang kept the Camaro in his sites, but Lavigne had enough to rush to the finish for the win.

For the second consecutive day, Simon Gregg’s No. 1 Derhaag Motorsports Chevrolet Corvette led the opening laps as he and Dillon Machavern’s No. 29 Heritage Automotive Group/Riggins Engineering Ford Falcon pulled away from the field. Also for the second consecutive day, Machavern stalked the defending SCCA Pro Racing Trans-Am champion and pulled off a pass on lap five to move into the lead. Once in front, the 17-year-old kept the pace to the checkered flag and an impressive weekend sweep.

Spec Racer Ford went according to plan for eventual winner Brian Schofield, who worked his strategy to perfection and his first Eastern Conference Majors win of the season. Schofield’s No. 61 PM Racing Spec Racer pushed Franklin Futrelle’s No. 17 Meco Inc. of Augusta/Comprent Motorsports/Skip Barber Racing School machine ahead of the field, creating a gap over the early stages of the race that left them all alone.

With one to go, Schofield finally made his move, passing Futrelle and extending his Eastern Conference point lead.

The afternoon formula car groups had some clear cut winners, but a handful of close battles to pair with them. Scott Rettich’s No. 71 Alliance Autosport/PDI Communications Formula Enterprises/Mazda held off Paul Schneider’s No. 73 Performance MotorCars of Charlotte machine for a 0.499-second win in a race that was slowed to 11 laps for two separate incidents. A spinning, stalled car caused a black flag on the opening lap, and then a later full course caution further slowed the pace and left it outside the 40-minute time limit.

The Formula Vee battle was a four-car fight for the lead for 12-lap race’s entirety. Eastern Conference class point leader Stevan Davis’ No. 80 Hoosier/Butler Engines/Roxannes Headers Racer’s Wedge/VW, Gary Blanarik’s No. 3 Sewickley Car Store/Silver Bullet Silver Bullet/VW, Dale Rader’s No. 8 Total Automotive/Goodyear/Quicksilver Volkswagen Vortech and Donnie Isley’s No. 30 Agitator by Brookshire Agitator 016/VW ran nose to tail and side by side across the southern Virginia hills.

Blanarik led the quartet across the stripe to begin the final lap, but Davis moved to the front in the final 3.27 miles. Davis led out of the final corner, but Blanarik used the draft and the long front straight to pull in front just before the checkered flag.

Greg Ira capped the day with a flag-to-flag win in E Production behind the wheel of the No. 2 First Coast Auto Sales Datsun 260Z.

The Eastern Conference Majors Tour schedule moves to Summit Point Raceway in just two weeks for Rounds Seven and Eight of the championship, held within the SCCA’s Northeast and Southeast Divisions.

More information on the SCCA Majors Program is available at Like SCCA on Facebook at, or follow on Twitter @SCCAOfficial.

ALTON, Va. – Provisional race winners for Sunday’s BFGoodrich Tires Super Tour, the SCCA Eastern Conference Majors Tour Round Six at Virginia International Raceway. Drivers are listed by Class: name, hometown, and car.

American Sedan: Daniel Richardson, Derwood, Md., Chevrolet Camaro
C Sports Racing: Jacek Mucha, Laval, Quebec, JMS 016cp/Mazda
D Sports Racing: Garrett Kletjian, Hingham, Mass., Stohr WF1/Suzuki
Formula 500: Michael Brent, Bethel, Conn., Invader QC-1/Rotax
Formula 1000: Glenn Cooper, Roswell, Ga., RFR F1000
Formula Atlantic: Sedat Yelkin, Austintown, Ohio, Swift/Toyota
Formula Continental: Kem Lall, Ringwood, N.J., Van Diemen F2000
Formula Enterprise: Scott Rettich, Camden, Ohio, Formula Enterprises/Mazda
Formula F: Lewis Cooper III, Grosse Pointe, Mich., Van Diemen RF00/Ford
Formula Mazda: Robert Noell, Cary, N.C., Formula Mazda
Formula Vee: Gary Blanarik, Baden, Pa., Silver Bullet/VW
E Production: Greg Ira, Fort Lauderdale, Fla., Datsun 260Z
F Production: David Bryson, Clemons, N.C., Mazda Miata
H Production: Tim Pitts, Louisville, Tenn., Volkswagen Golf
GT-1: Dillon Machavern, Charlotte, Vt., Ford Falcon
GT-2: Trent Hindman, Asbury Park, N.J., Porsche 911 GT3
GT-Lite: Robert Lentz II, Chantilly, Va., Nissan Sentra SER
Spec Miata: Cliff Brown, Hoschton, Ga., Mazda Miata
Spec Racer Ford: Brian Schofield, Lakeland, Fla., Spec Racer Ford
Sports 2000: Hawley Chester, Atlanta, Ga., Royale RP 38/42/Ford
Super Touring Lite: Michael Van Steenburg, Winter Haven, Fla., Mazda Miata
Super Touring Under: Michael Flynn, Eustis, Fla., BMW E46
Touring 1: Jerry Onks, Murfreesboro, Tenn., Chevrolet Corvette
Touring 2: Matthew Pullano, Endicott, N.Y., Chevrolet Corvette
Touring 3: Rob Hines, Arlington, Va., Nissan 350Z
Touring 4: Brian Price, Middletown, Va., Mazda MX-5