Scott Speed Wins Red Bull GRC Indianapolis   Video- Cyril Raymond – GRC Lites Indy 2017

Exciting Firsts for Kurt Wittmer and Vincent Duchesne-Millette

KurtWittmer ICar0717Condensed into one single day on Saturday to comply with the new format for the 2017 edition of the national NASCAR event at ICAR, the free practice, qualifying, and races were all run in slightly different weather conditions with rain for the first morning round, followed by a drying track for rounds 2 and 3 (actually one long 50 minute race divided into two segments) and eventually a dry surface for the last round late in the afternoon.

The favoured 2016 champion Jacques Gravel (BMW 330i) conceded victory to Kurt Wittmer (Honda Civic) as of the first race. The latter swapped the lead multiple times with Sylvain Laporte (Mini Cooper) and Sébastien Lamontagne (Acura RSX), but by the end, Wittmer won, despite a hard charging Laporte in the dying moments.

Victim of mechanical problems, Lamontagne saw the 2015 champion Marc Héroux (Toyota GT-86) grab third place from him. The Top 8 were rounded out by Jacques Gravel, Vincent Duchesne-Millette (Honda Civic), Éric Durand (Chevrolet Cobalt) and Crystel Charest (Mini Cooper).

This was the very first overall series victory for Kurt Wittmer, who contested – and won severall races – the past season in Compact Class, and is the younger brother of Kuno, Nick and Karl, all drivers whom have competed in SPC in the past.

In the Compact category, victory went to veteran Yves Legris (Toyota Écho), ahead of British Columbian driver Jordan Redlin (Honda Fit) and Paul Morin (Toyota Écho).

The second race of the day was kicked off with an “observation” period between the potential winners. The race played out shortly before the half, signally the end of round number 2, once again won by Kurt Wittmer, ahead of Sylvain Laporte, Patrick Pilon (Acura Integra), Jacques Gravel, Éric Durand and Crystel Charest.

In Compact Class, Jordan Redlin was victorious, and managed to also finish in seventh place overall ! He finished in his class ahead of the Toyota Echos of Martin Husar and Mathieu Legris.

The second half of this 50 minute race, which was in effect round 3, was both strategic and exciting especially in the battle for fourth place. Winner again, Kurt Wittmer ! Even though the Ste-Rose Honda team’s strategy was perfect from start to finish, it be executed without the young driver’s talents on the drying track that enabled him to claim the win by just over two seconds ahead of an experienced Sylvain Laporte. Duchesne-Millette rounded out the podium, ahead of Pilon, Gravel, Durand and Lamontagne, relegated by three positions after making contact with Jacques Gravel.

Jordan Redlin earned the Compact Class win this time ahead of Mathieu Legris and Paul Morin.

At the end of the afternoon, on the small ICAR track, the fifteen SPC series entrants gave their best show of the day. About thirty changes in the leaderboard took place throughout the 25 minutes of racing. Separated for a long time by just three seconds, the first seven did not rest and Vincent Duchesne-Millette took advantage of that to claim his first victory of the series. Along with Kurt Wittmer, who excelled in each of the first three races and finished in second during the last race, the SPC series crowned two brand new winners this July 8th, 2017 at the ICAR circuit.

Benefitting from Marc Héroux’s post-race disqualification for unsportsmanlike actions, Jacques Gravel earned third place, which allows him to maintain his lead in the championship. However, Kurt Wittmer closed in on reigning champion, which is surely leading to a very exciting second half of the season. Lamontagne, Laporte, Jacques Bélanger (Honda Civic), Durand and Charest completed the Top 8. In Compact Class, Yves Legris once again won, followed by Morin and Redlin.

The next rounds of the Super Production Challenge (SPC) series, presented by BFGoodrich® Tired Canada, will take place in Ontario on August 26th and 27th, on the Calabogie track, west of Ottawa.

This season, the Super Production Challenge is supported by BFGoodrich® Tires Canada, Dimensions Doors and Windows, Fix Auto, NAPA C-Max,, Ste-Rose Honda, Auto Sport Québec, Pole-Position Magazine, DaDuf Médias, Ray Production,, Flagworld Communications, Perry Performance Compétition, Racing Radios International, Kart-O-Mania, Optik Design and Mixcom Communications.

For more information, visit the series’ official site at :


Tags:  , , ,